Conference on the Establishment of the European Public Prosecutor’s Office (EPPO) 26-27 March 2018, Sofia


Monday, 26 March 2018

9:45 – 10:00 Arrival and registration of participants
10:00 – 10:20 Opening speeches by Ms. Tsetska Tsacheva, Minister of Justice of Bulgaria, Mr. Francisco Fonseca Morillo, Deputy Director-General for Justice and Consumers, European Commission, Mr. Felix Braz, Minister of Justice of Luxembourg, Mr. Sotir Tsatsarov, Chief Prosecutor of Republic of Bulgaria
10:20 – 11:30 Update on the state of play (Peter Csonka, European Commission)

Overview: interim Administrative Director, draft EPPO budget 2019, Delegated Act, Recruitment, Internal Rules of Procedure, Case Management System, Relations with partners, Training, EPPO Expert Group

11:30 – 11:50 Coffee break, Family Photo
11:50 – 13:00 Selection and appointment of staff (Adam Juszczak, European Commission)

  • European Chief Prosecutor
  • European Prosecutors
  • European Delegated Prosecutors
  • Other staff
13:00 – 14:30 Lunch break (venue: Vitosha Hall)
14:30 – 16:00 Practical implications: Internal rules of procedure
Internal rules of procedure
(Katariina Jahkola, Ministry of Justice of Finland, Klaus Meyer-Cabri, Eurojust, Dietrich Neumann, Europol)
16:00 – 16:15 Coffee break
16:15 – 17:15 Practical implications: Adaptations in national legal systems
Adaptations in national legal systems
(David Vilas Alvarez, Ministry of Justice, Spain, and Barbora Svachova, Ministry of Justice, Czech Republic)
17:15 – 18:15 Practical implications: Cooperation with national authorities
Cooperation with national authorities
(Ivanka Kotorova, Prosecution Service of Bulgaria and Bulgarian Eurojust member , Jean-François Bohnert, Prosecutor General Reims, France, and Hans-Holger Herrnfeld, German Ministry of Justice)
20.00 – 22.00 Dinner at Hotel Marinela Sofia


Tuesday, 27 March 2018

9:00 – 9:30 Confirmation of registration
9:30 – 10:45 Case Management System (Dick Heimans, European Commission, Judith Hester, Ministry of Justice, Austria, Kristel Siitam-Nyiri, Ministry of Justice, Estonia)

  • Development
  • Requirements
  • Interoperability
10:45 – 11:00 Coffee break
11:00 – 12:30 Cooperation with other EU bodies, non-participating Member States and Third Countries (Peter Csonka, European Commission, Irene Sacristan-Sanchez, OLAF, Klaus Meyer-Cabri, Eurojust, Dietrich Neumann, Europol, Björn Blomqvist, Swedish Prosecution Service, Hedvig Moe, Norwegian National Authority for Investigation and Prosecution of Economic and Environmental Crime)
12:30 – 14:00 Lunch break (venue: Vitosha Hall)
14:00 – 14:45 Training of EPPO staff and practitioners (Miglena Tacheva, Director of Bulgarian National Institute for Justice, Katarzyna Krysiak, EJTN, Stefano Failla, CEPOL)
14:45 – 15:00 Coffee break
15:00 – 15:45 Discussion
15:45-16:00 Conclusions